SARCASTIC RABBIT & THE HIGHWAY TO HEAVEN…5 DAY CHALLENGE:DAY 5

I’m getting tired can you tell?Mostly black and white today. I also misjudged my time this week so ended up having to do the last two in one day.

I am very glad I did it though. I learned~or relearned~a lot. Often with my cartoons I wait for a whole story to hit me, this week I learned I can sit down with a scrap of a story and it will grow itself. Sarcastic Rabbit was a case in point. I wanted him to be a character but I have never worked from a character before only from the story but no story was coming to me. When I sat down with him, he wrote the story for me. In fact I really like the story and its the best part of the cartoon I think.

I started fooling around with hand written captions but I don’t think it works and I’ll revert back to typing. I also didn’t have the time to add more colour to Rabbit which I think it needs but I do like the watercolour. I learned too that I need to scan them properly to get the colour right and also that I should avoid drawing on paper larger than my scanner…

I wish I had been able to do shorter ones~and I think three panel ones work best~but every time I tried to a seal or a rabbit or an angel butted in and demanded space so I’m a bit tired now and I have to work on cpmpacting some ideas (or ensmallening them…) but very happy about all the ideas that arrived. Keep coming!

I got good feedback and ideas from people including Paul Kirby, Ajius and Too Tunes (boredinarecordshop.wordpress.com)and all those who share and laugh (Pedro, Trish et al), their support is essential. I wish more people would acknowledge they read my stuff (I know you’re out there!). It’s quite important not to feel we are drawing into a void so the people who make themselves known are very much appreciated.

Al;so thanks to Homer Simpson fo the word ’embiggen’…or did he use ensmallen?Not sure but I was reintroduced to them both this week and can’t stop using them.

Click on the image for an embiggened version.

SARCASTIC RABBIT & THE HIGHWAY TO HEAVEN SM

5 responses to “SARCASTIC RABBIT & THE HIGHWAY TO HEAVEN…5 DAY CHALLENGE:DAY 5

    • Ah thanks Mary K, really appreciate your likes you know, it is nice to share the laughs. They ‘even feel like my cartoons because they make me laugh too!Thanks for the company…

      Like

Comments are closed.