ROOK BOOK

REAL ROOKOne of our projects last semester was to choose an animal or bird and reduce it down to its basic elements which would be recognisable. I chose a Rook and this is what resulted. I could maybe have done without the beak but he seemed to demand a beak. We were then to use this piece to draw studies involving shade and contrast and light and dark.

I had quite fallen in love with Rooky at that point. He seemed to have all the personality of a real Rook and then some and so I decided that nothing less than a book would do. It was a bit of a rush what with all the other work I had to do but I am glad I did it.

I have been considering making him a recurring character but so far I haven’t had any time but the least I can do is introduce him…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

9 responses to “ROOK BOOK

Comments are closed.