POSTER GIRL

Years ago I knew of a group that met regularly but which was riven by drama and periodically excluded members by snubbing them. I would never be part of a group that decided en masse to ignore someone-if only out of contrariness rather than kindness-so I avoided this group like the proverbial plague.

I admit that I have been a ‘snubber’, usually after an argument. If I came to believe I had done wrong I apologised. At the very least no-one was ever left in any doubt how they had upset me and, these days anyway, communications lines are left open..ย 

I was reminded of this group recently when I noticed someone from that timeย sticking her nose in the air when I greeted her, refusing to acknowledge me. As I can get a bit distracted I have no idea how long this has been going on or why it is going on. In truth I find it quite hilarious.ย 

So what of it? Well, merely not greeting a stranger can have a deleterious effect. I once read about a man who committed suicide from the Golden Gate Bridge. He left note behind which said that even if one person smiled at him on the way there, he would not do it. No-one did.

In view of this, any deliberate attempt to make someone believe they are ‘outside’ is quite odious behaviour. My current situation as a snubee doesn’t bother me much but compare how a smile can lift your day with how a deliberate snub makes you feel. For most of us, if you are made happy by one you’ll be brought down a little by the other especially if you are having a bad day anyway.

But when you’re down what better pick me up than a cartoon?I decided to set it in my own milieu, the art world, and I’ve always wanted to use foreign words in one of my comics to show how classy I am…

Click on image to embiggen!

or should I say…

Klicken sie auf das bild um es embiggen! KUNST sm

12 responses to “POSTER GIRL

  1. Haha brill. You’d think people would grow out of schoolyard tactics, I always joined groups of mostly blokes, like scale modelling folk singing, no snubbing going on in bloke groups, they just tell you to F*%k off if you upset them ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Fraggle…yes there’s a lot to be said for blokes!..I find them much easier to deal with than trying to navigate the minds of certain women…and all the cool women I know have the same horror of groups of women I do ๐Ÿ˜Š

      Liked by 1 person

      • I gave the modelling up for photography which is quite solitary except for outings with pal Sophie (who doesn’t bitch ๐Ÿ™‚ ) but hubby is a master at it, builds historically correct and detailed WW2 tanks in 1 35th scale. We all have our creative side somehow ๐Ÿ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

      • Wow that sounds cool…I dont have the patience for thast kind of thing…so I admire it. I would end up with everything stuck to my hands!and talking of modelling and photography… as you probably know… there’s a few artists around that build sets both miniature and full size to take photos of which are pretty cool…can’t think of any names offhand…mind you I am loving your photos…keep them coming ๐Ÿ˜Š

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I have known people like this, and it’s devastating when they snub you (which I guess is the point of why they do it). After this happened to me again a couple of years ago, I decided enough was enough and moved on. It still stings a little bit when I think about it. I look forward to the day where, like you, I can just find it amusing in its own pathetic way. Very cool strip! ๐Ÿ˜›

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well Id be lying if I said it didnt bother me a bit, it does bring me down and I get a little freaked out that people our age can behave like this. It bends my brain!It always will.Also In this instance there is a mutual friend whom I value who cannot see…or is not shown…the poison in this person and so that makes it a bit harder.But I have found the the artist (and other) friends I have made in recent years are a wonderful counterbalance to earlier mistakes…maybe in a way I brought these people on myself in that I didnt have a lot of confidence when I was younger and was a bit confused I guess and so gravitated to people I thought I belonged with. When it turned out I was different then they lashed out. Its only a theory but these days I am closer to people I belong with I think…I am glad you moved on too ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Ah yes. In my little group of women, I am now being snubbed, and from one, it’s spiced with some real nastiness, slamming doors and the like. Thanks for cartooning “the mean girls.”

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh no!I am sorry to hear that!That is so silly and mean and horrible. Ridiculous people. Why would someone do that to another person. Grrrr. I am slamming doors here on your behalf Rachael. Here’s hoping that they get over themselves soon ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

      Like

Comments are closed.